Multiple Teams · CP Winter Athletic Awards Night

Clinton Prairie high school took time to reflect on the achievements made by its student-athletes at its annual Winter Sports Awards Program on Monday evening at the school.

It was another successful season for the Gophers, who did not have a team finish outside of the top four in the Hoosier Heartland Conference.

The Clinton Prairie boys’ basketball team spent most of the season ranked in the top 10 of Class 1A and put together a 13-game winning streak early in the season.

Senior forward Kale Morris was the varsity recipient of the Most Valuable Player award, while junior guard Drew Scott earned the “Mr. Hustle” award, and senior guard Jacob Price was named Best Teammate. Sophomore center Mitch Coapstick earned the junior varsity Most Valuable Player award.

The Clinton Prairie girls’ basketball team won the Hoosier Heartland Conference Championship Tournament, taking each game by a single point with two of the wins coming against teams they lost to earlier in the season.

Senior center Madison Douglass was named the team’s Most Outstanding Contributor, while junior guard Micha Ruiz was recognized as the Most Outstanding Defender, sophomore Jaycie Pletch earned the Most Improved Award, senior forward Kayleigh Pletch garnered the Heart, Effort and Determination Award, and Kylie Burris was named the junior varsity’s Most Outstanding Player.

For the Gophers’ wrestling team, which took third place at the HHC tournament, junior 285-pounder Jacob Garrett and senior Tyler Smith shared Most Valuable Wrestler honors, while junior Nevan Freestone was the recipient of the Mental Attitude Award, sophomore Brody Fossnock was named the team’s Most Exciting Wrestler, freshman Alec Sherrick was named the Most Improved, and junior Braxton Barnett was recognized for the Most Takedowns.

Four wrestlers – freshman Caiden Maish, sophomore Austin Sattler, Barnett and Smith – got a share of the Most Pins award.

Clinton Prairie’s cheerleaders were recognized at the event, and junior Ashlee Congleton earned the squad’s Cheerleader Excellence Award. Senior Taylor Parker garnered both the Most Encouraging Award and the Most Dedicated Award, and junior Britney Calder was named the recipient of the Most Determined Award.

Before athletes were honored in their respective sports, Clinton Prairie athletic director Eric Ulrich recognized first-time letter winners Tatum Neal, Makayla Hawthorne, Caylynn Fearnow, Maish and Sattler.

Letter jackets were earned by Anna Albaugh, McKinsey Martin, Olivia Waugh, Coapstick, Fossnock and Noah Rynearson.

Congleton, Kayleigh Pletch, Ruiz, Cayde Selke and Kristian Peters were awarded plaques recognizing the completion of their sixth varsity letter, and Chase Joseph was given a nine-letter blanket.